The Earl | WABE 90.1 FM

The Earl

City Tours: The Coathangers Dine At Ria's Bluebird

Jul 18, 2017
Gabbie Watts / WABE

The Coathangers spend most of their year playing shows around the country and Europe, but when the Atlanta band comes home, they enjoy the rich delicacies of Ria’s Bluebird. The Grant Park establishment opened in 2000 and offers a lunch and breakfast menu.

Like us on Facebook

The Coathangers, made up of Julia Kugel, Meredith Franco and Stephanie Luke, say the restaurant offers a homey respite from the hours on the road. They highly recommend the chicken salad.

Courtesy of Hank &Cupcakes

Atlanta recently became the home base of independent band Hank & Cupcakes.

The band, named after Charles Bukowski and one of his lovers, are a married couple, Sagit Shir and Ariel Scherbacovsky, whose music career began during their mandatory military service in Israel. They were in the entertainment division, where musicians would tour in small bands to different bases. They said it was quite a luxury compared to other jobs.

Like us on Facebook

Musicians Aileen Loy and Mike Katinsky talk with Lois Reitzes about their annual tribute to love and murder ballads in Bloody Valentines at the Earl on Thursday's ''City Lights.''
Stephen Crocker

Thursday on "City Lights with Lois Reitzes":

Patterson Hood, Mike Cooley, Brad Morgan, Jay Gonzalez, and Matt Patton with Drive-By Truckers perform at the Candler Park Music and Food Festival on Saturday, May 30, 2015, in Atlanta.
Photo by Robb D. Cohen/Invision/AP

This weekend, Atlanta plays host to a soul revival act at the Fox and some politically charged Americana. Contributor Mara Davis joins host emeritus Steve Goss for their weekly look at the concert calendar with "Mara's Music Mix."

Phish performs during the Bonnaroo Music and Arts Festival in Manchester, Tenn., Sunday, June 10, 2012.
AP Photo/Dave Martin

This weekend brings surfer-songwriters, country rebels and the quintessential jam band to Atlanta. Contributor Mara Davis joins host emeritus Steve Goss for a look ahead with "Mara's Music Mix."